Naogaon District

Naogaon town situated on the river of Little Jamuna

About Naogaon district

Naogaon district (Rajshahi division) with an area of 3435.67 sq km, is bounded by West Bengal of India on the north, natore and rajshahi districts on the south, joypurhat and bogra districts on the east, nawabganj district and West Bengal (India) on the west. Annual temperature: maximum 37.8°C and minimum 11.2°C; annual rainfall 1862 mm. Main rivers are atrai, punarbhaba, little jamuna, nagar, Chiri and Tulsi Ganga. Guta, Mansur and Dighali beels are notable.

Naogaon (Town) a municipal town, has an area of 37.03 sq km. It consists of 9 wards and 62 mahallas. The town has a population of 123101; male 51.78%, female 48.22%; literacy rate among the town people is 48.5%. It has one dakbungalow and one rest house.

Naogaon subdivision, under Rajshahi district, was established in 1877 and was turned into a district in 1984. It consists of 2 municipality, 11 upazilas, 18 wards, 74 mahallas, 99 union parishads and 2795 villages. The upazilas are

Archaeological heritage

2377314; male 50.66% and female 49.34%; Muslim 84.51%, Hindu 11.39%, ethnic nationals (mainly Santal, Oraon and Mahali) 3.45% and others 0.65%.

Literacy and educational institutions
Average literacy 28.4%; male 35.9% and female 20.4%. Educational institutions: college 47, high school 309, junior school 49, government primary school 794, non-government primary school 559, madrasa 167. Noted institutions: Naogaon High School (1884), Raja Haranath High School (1990), Kaligram Rabindranath Institute (1910), Chak Athita High School, English School (1914), Chakla High School (1916), Kritipur High School (1921), Sharbamanal High School (1921), Coronation High School (1927), Paramohan Girl's High School (1909), Central Girl's High School (1926), Naogaon Girl's High School (1948), Basiruddin Memorial Co operative College (1946),

Dainik Ishtehar (1971), Joybangla (1971), Bangabani (1971), Banglar Kantha (1993); weekly: Saptahik Desher Bani (1925), Saptahik Banka Chand (1950), Naba-Diganta (1964), Nabayug (1964); extinct: Barendra Batra, (1981), Surya Mukhi (1982), Nababarta (1991).

Cultural organisations
Club 668, press club 1, public library 27, cinema hall 40, dakbungalow 20, circuit house 1.

Main occupations
Agriculture 49.01%, fishing 1.25%, agricultural labourer 26.96%, wage labourer 2.3%, commerce 8.35%, service 3.46%, others 8.67%.

Land use
Cultivable land 2777573 hectares, fallow land 68715 hectares; single crop 25%, double crop 55% and treble crop land 20%. Land under irrigation 61%.

Atrai, Punarbhaba, Little Jamuna, Gur, Dhol, Tulshiganga, Nagor, Noor, Fokinni and Shiva.

Main crops
Paddy, potato, watermelon, oil seeds, pulses.

Fruit production
Mango, jackfruit, banana, litchi, coconut.

Commutation facilities
Roads: pucca 374.77 km, semi pucca 59.12 km and mud road 3595.32 km; railway 15 km; waterways 36 nautical mile.

Traditional transport
Palanquin, horse carriage, bullock cart, buffalo cart. These means of transport are either extinct or nearly extinct.

Automatic rice and husking mill, ice factory, flour mill, oil mill, sawmill, welding etc.

Cottage industries
Goldsmith, blacksmith, potteries, blacksmith, bamboo, cane and mat work, tailoring etc.

Hats, bazars and fairs
Total number of hats and bazars is 207.

Main exports
Paddy, rice and potato.

Health centres
District hospital 1, upazila heath complex 10, union heath centre 35, family planning centre 42, christian missionary hospital 1.

By: Banglapedia

No comments:

Post a Comment